GMxgrid

GMxgridGMxgrid is a ©MS Windows freeware program for working with scanned raster images of topographic maps that performs one important operation: automatic detection of intersections of lines in a strictly rectangular grid. These crosshairs are used as calibration points in correction of distorsions for precise geo-referencing in the GIS software Global Mapper by Blue Marble Geographics. GMxgrid significantly speeds up this routine and time consuming work, during which users usually have to set calibration points manually. In addition, it provides a more convenient interface if compared to Global Mapper.

 In general, workflow is divided into the following steps:

  1. Load map image and specify a rectangle delimited by extreme grid lines (i.e., this rectangle should completely fall within the map frame), then specify its north, south, west and east sides (in world coordinates):

    QuadrangleWorld coordinates
  2. Set the grid step. The program will automatically suggest search areas at each of the crosshairs:

    Search areas

    Missing search areas located along the map frame can be easily added manually (if necessary).
  3. Configure several search options and start the detection process. The program creates a pattern (mask) of the crosshairs and searches for the most matching position in each of the given areas:

    Search area and mask

  4. After checking the results, the program writes a CSV-file with calibration points, which is directly used in Global Mapper (operation "Rectify (Georeference) Imagery...").

GMxgrid is a pure graphical program: it doesn't has any database and can not convert geographic coordinates, the only coordinates it "understand" are positions of pixels on bitmaps and some corresponding rectangular (world) coordinates. The program works with JPEG, PNG, TIFF, GIF and BMP file formats. Actually, it deals with grayscale negatives (usually invisible).

GMxgrid

GMxgridGMxgrid – это программа для работы со сканированными изображениями топографических карт, выполняющая одну важную процедуру: автоматическую идентификацию перекрестий линий прямоугольной километровой сетки. Эти точки затем используются для исправления искажений на растровых изображениях в ходе их привязки к географическим координатам с помощью ГИС Global Mapper от фирмы Blue Marble Geographics. GMxgrid существенно ускоряет эту рутинную и отнимающую много времени работу, в ходе которой пользователям обычно приходится ставить калибровочные точки вручную. Кроме того, она предоставляет более удобный интерфейс по сравнению с Global Mapper.

Работа с программой состоит в следующем:

  1. После загрузки изображения карты вручную задаётся прямоугольник, который ограничен крайними линиями километровой сетки (т.е. полностью входящий в рамки карты) и указываются координаты его северной, южной, западной и восточной сторон:

    Заданный прямоугольникКоординаты
  2. Указывается шаг километровой сетки, после чего программа автоматически расставляет предполагаемые области поиска для каждого из перекрестий:

    Области поиска

    Недостающие области поиска, располагающиеся вдоль рамки карты, пользователь может легко добавить самостоятельно.
  3. Настраиваются несколько параметров поиска и запускается процесс идентификации. Программа формирует шаблон (маску) перекрестья и ищет наибольшие соответствия ему в каждой из заданных областей:

    Область поиска и маска

  4. После проверки результатов записывается файл с точками калибровки в формате CSV, который непосредственно используется в программе Global Mapper (процедура «Rectify (Georeference) Imagery...»).

GMxgrid – это графическая программа и в ней нет функций, занимающихся преобразованиями географических координат. Единственные координаты, которые она «понимает» – это положения пикселов на изображении и отвечающие им некоторые прямоугольные координаты на местности. Программа работает с растровыми изображениями в форматах JPEG, PNG, TIFF, GIF и BMP.
GMxgrid работает под управлением ОС ©MS Windows. Программа является бесплатной (freeware).