osc2xrd

osc2xrd LogoYou can use osc2xrd for transformation of primary diffraction 3D (X–Z–I) data obtained on diffractometers with a cylindrical detector Rigaku RAXIS Rapid II and DMAX (*.osc files) into standard X-ray 2D 2Θ–I profiles (*.xrd files) suitable for full-profile analysis by the Rietveld method.

 Data processing is divided into three main constituents:

  • translation of sensor coordinates X–Z into 2Θ angles,
  • correction of intesity drop along the vertical Z-axis of the sensor,
  • selection of areas for their processing.

osc2xrd windows

 Translation of coordinates is performed using the formula describing intersection of cone and cylindre:

$$\large 2\mit\Theta=\arccos\Big(\cos\frac{|X-X_B|}{D}\times\cos\Big(\arctan\frac{|Z-Z_B|}{D}\Big)\Big),$$
where X and Z – horizontal and vertical coordinates of the sensor, XB and ZB – coordinates of the direct beam center, D – shortest sample-sensor distance (127.4 mm). 2Θ values (in degrees and hundredths of degrees) are multiplied by 100 and converted into integers for convenient and fast data manipulation (as 2Θ values are used for indexation of intensity data).

 Vertical intensity correction includes three main affecting factors: the quadratic attenuation of light with increasing distance from the sample to the horizontal row of pixels on the sensor, the dependence of the illumination on the angle of incidence and on the absorption of x-rays in air, which has a significant impact even at small distances of the order of several centimeters (particularly when using Co radiation with low energy photons). Moreover, there are additional correction factor for the intensities cos(Θ) and user-specified constant scaling factor. The quality of correction along the Z-axis can be checked by constructing vertical profiles of intensities for specified narrow ranges of values 2Θ in the intervals of the x-ray profile which are not complicated by reflections (intensity peaks).

 Areas for processing can be set by specifying the 2Θ ranges and X–Z-coordinates of interest, and by masking the areas to be excluded (mainly the shadows from the beamstopper and other hardware elements). Raster images in false colors are used for this purpose: they must be created using this program and edited in any raster graphics editor.

Image in false colors and masking image
 The calculation of the average intensities is performed for each 2Θ value in increments of 0.01°. Sensor matrix resolution (10 px/mm) is insufficient for this step in a very narrow range of angles 2Θ ≈ 90° (where the elliptical isograd degenerates into a straight line): it is manifested by the absence of data for individual 2Θ values in the table and sawlike interference patterns on diagrams. These gaps are filled using linear interpolation. Smoothing of intensities is done by calculating the moving averages in the 2Θ window of the specified width. In addition, you can increase the step along the 2Θ axis up to 0.02° to achieve even more smoothed profile.

 Diffractograms computed by the program are shown on the chart for their primary examination and comparison. If necessary, the data from the osc-file can also be saved to a TAB-delimited table as an ASCII plain text file.

 The program is written in close cooperation with Sergey N. Britvin (St.-Petersburg State University, Institute of Earth Sciences, Department of Crystallography).
Bibliographic reference:
Russian:

Britvin S.N., Dolivo-Dobrovolsky D.V., Krzhizhanovskaya M.G. Software for processing the X-ray powder diffraction data obtained from the curved image plate detector of Rigaku RAXIS Rapid II diffractometer // Proceedings of the Russian Mineralogical Society, 2017, v. 146, No 3, p. 104-107. Article on eLibrary.ru
(Бритвин С.Н., Доливо-Добровольский Д.В., Кржижановская М.Г. Программный пакет для обработки рентгеновских порошковых данных, полученных с цилиндрического детектора дифрактометра Rigaku RAXIS RAPID II // Записки РМО, 2017, ч. CXLVI, №3, с. 104-107)

osc2xrd

osc2xrd LogoПрограмма osc2xrd, написанная в тесном сотрудничестве с С.Н. Бритвиным (ИНЗ СПбГУ, каф. кристаллографии), служит для преобразования первичных дифракционных трёхмерных (X–Z–I) данных, получаемых на дифрактометрах с цилиндрическим детектором Rigaku RAXIS Rapid II и DMAX (файлов *.osc), в стандартные рентгеновские двумерные профили 2Θ–I (файлы *.xrd), пригодные для полнопрофильного анализа методом Ритвельда.

 Обработка данных разделена на три главных составляющих:

  • преобразование координат сенсора детектора X–Z в углы 2Θ,
  • коррекция ослабления интенсивностей по вертикальной оси Z сенсора,
  • выбор областей для обработки.

Окна osc2xrd

 Преобразование координат производится по формуле, описывающей пересечение конуса и цилиндра:

$$\large 2\mit\Theta=\arccos\Big(\cos\frac{|X-X_B|}{D}\times\cos\Big(\arctan\frac{|Z-Z_B|}{D}\Big)\Big),$$
где X и Z – интересующие горизонтальная и вертикальная координаты сенсора детектора, XB и ZB – координаты центра прямого пучка, D – расстояние от образца до сенсора (127.4 мм). Для удобства и существенного ускорения обработки значения 2Θ (в градусах и их сотых долях) умножаются на 100 и переводятся в целочисленный формат, что позволяет использовать их для индексации массива данных с интенсивностями.

 В коррекцию интенсивностей по оси Z включены три основных фактора, приводящих к их снижению: квадратичное ослабление освещённости с увеличением расстояния от образца до горизонтального ряда пикселов сенсора, зависимость освещённости от угла падения лучей и поглощение рентгеновского излучения в воздушной среде, которое оказывает заметное влияние даже на небольших расстояниях порядка нескольких сантиметров (особенно при использовании Co-излучения с низкой энергией фотонов). Кроме того, используются дополнительные корректирующий множитель для интенсивностей cos(Θ) и задаваемый пользователем масштабирующий коэффициент-константа. Качество коррекции по оси Z можно проверять построением вертикальных профилей интенсивностей для заданных узких диапазонов значений 2Θ в промежутках рентгеновского профиля, не осложнённых отражениями (пиками интенсивностей).

 Области для обработки задаются как указанием интересующих диапазонов 2Θ и координат X–Z, так и маскированием участков, которые требуется исключить (главным образом, теней от ловушки и других элементов прибора). Для этого используются растровые изображения в условных цветах, создаваемые программой и редактируемые в любом редакторе, предназначенном для работы с растровой графикой.

Изображение в условных цветах и маска
 Вычисление средних интенсивностей производится по каждому значению 2Θ с шагом 0.01°. В весьма узком диапазоне углов 2Θ ≈ 90° (где происходит вырождение эллиптических изоград в прямую линию) отмечается недостаточность разрешения матрицы детектора (10 пкс/мм) для данного шага, проявляющаяся в виде отсутствия данных для отдельных значений 2Θ. Эти пропуски заполняются с помощью линейной интерполяции. Сглаживание интенсивностей производится путём вычисления скользящих средних значений в окне 2Θ заданной ширины. Кроме того, можно увеличить шаг по оси 2Θ до 0.02°, что приведёт к дополнительному сглаживанию данных.

 Рентгенограммы, вычисляемые программой, отображаются на диаграмме для их первичного изучения и сравнения. При необходимости данные из osc-файла также можно сохранить в виде текстовой таблицы (с разделителями – символами табуляции).

Библиографическая ссылка:
Бритвин С.Н., Доливо-Добровольский Д.В., Кржижановская М.Г. Программный пакет для обработки рентгеновских порошковых данных, полученных с цилиндрического детектора дифрактометра Rigaku RAXIS RAPID II // Записки РМО, 2017, ч. CXLVI, №3, с. 104-107. Статья на eLibrary.ru

Комментарии

Аватар пользователя DimaDD

The program has been updated. List of changes and new features in v.1.1:

  1. Window "I-Z profile" (test of vertical correction quality) is not showing at start, use the button to call it.
  2. Extension ".img" is added to ".osc" for files with RIGAKU RAW data (supposing their formats are identical).
  3. In the diagram window, you can load RIGAKU ASCII text files "*.asc" (with 2D spectral data) as well as simple "*.xrd" files. The program will ask for saving profiles as xrd-files in the case of ".asc" extension.
  4. In the diagram window, you can load multiple xrd/asc files with spectra at once.
  5. You can use the mouse wheel for zooming diagram in horizontal direction. Old method (drawing rectangular areas, i.e. zooming in both directions) is also available. Panning works only in horizontal direction now.
  6. The program shows 2Θ values at mouse pointer position and corresponding closest intensity values for each loaded spectrum under the diagram.
  7. You can sum up loaded spectra using special button under the diagram (with optional normalization). 2Θ parameters (minimum, maximum and step values) of all these spectra must be identical.